At a reception in the Community Room on August 27th, Yavapai College announced the recipients of the Community Healthcare Scholarships for 2017. Excitement and gratitude were the catch phrases of the day, as the group of twelve students expressed their appreciation for the opportunity to pursue their chosen healthcare careers. Coming from all walks of life and past experiences, the twelve scholars expressed one common theme – their desire to help others in our community. Ten of the students are enrolled in the Sciences and Health School of Nursing and two students are enrolled in the Allied Health School of Radiologic Technology.

Announced in 2016, the Community Healthcare Scholarship Program is the largest scholarship program at Yavapai College. The scholarship program is designed as a community effort to identify, support, and train students who are committed to pursuing a healthcare career in the local community. The local organizations that provide the funding for the scholarship program are: Harold James Family Trust, Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Prescott, Margaret T. Morris Foundation, Prescott Radiologists, LLP, Yavapai College Foundation, and Yavapai Regional Medical Center.

Dr. David Hess, president of the Jewish Foundation said: “This healthcare scholarship program simultaneously supports education and healthcare while ensuring a pipeline of vital healthcare professionals for the local medical community.”

Speaking to the audience of approximately seventy-five people, that also included many of the 2016 scholarship recipients, were Diane Drexler, Chief Nursing Officer of Yavapai Regional Medical Center, Dr. Penny Wills, President of Yavapai College, and Dr. David Hess, President of the Jewish Community Foundation. Each provided words of admiration and encouragement to the scholarship recipients, noting the students were embarking on a demanding but rewarding profession of service to others.

At the conclusion of the event, Dr. Matthew Dicker, a partner in Prescott Radiologist, LLP, and Dr. Hess, a retired cardiologist, presented each of the nursing scholarship recipients with a stethoscope engraved with the student’s name and each of the radiologic technology students with a set of engraved X-ray markers. These gifts will accompany these energetic and committed individuals throughout their journey as healthcare professionals.

Category: Pressroom